“The Story That Sent Me to Jail” Juvenile Justice

colouredjustice.wordpress.com

Savage_CopsOutside1jpg

The Story That Sent Me to Jail

NEW YORK — I am writing this from inside a jail cell. I was put here for doing an unremarkable, routine bit of journalism, covering a sentencing in a murder. I won’t go so far as to say I was arrested since I was never read any rights. I am in the cell just the same.

I must have covered hundreds of similar hearings in my career. But this is the first time I ever ended up in the same cellblock as the subjects I was covering.

JJIE New York Metro Bureau logoI had just shot video of a phalanx of court officers who came out of a courtroom and were followed by a pregnant woman in the throes of some kind of intense anxiety attack. She moved haltingly. She struggled to breathe.

You…

View original post 3,121 more words

Leave a Reply

